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Missouri Medical Marijuana 
Regulatory Program Update
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Lyndall Fraker

Section for Medical Marijuana 
Regulation, Director

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation

To administer Missouri’s Medical Marijuana Regulatory Program in alignment 
with the provisions of Article XIV of the Constitution, as determined by the will 

of the citizens of Missouri.

Mission

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
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Make medical marijuana 
accessible for qualifying 

patients

Uphold safety and quality 
standards for medical 

marijuana

Regulate the medical marijuana 
industry to comply with Mo. law 

and keep communities safe

Strategic Priority 
#1

Strategic Priority 
#2

Strategic Priority 
#3

Vision

A program that provides safe and secure access to medical marijuana for 
qualifying Missouri patients through consistent regulation, enforcement, and 

education.

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
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Director

Deputy Director

Patient Services Director
Facility Licensing & Compliance 

Director

Patient Services 

Staff 

To include the 

Call Center

Licensing & Compliance 

Staff

Operations Manager

Operations Staff

Facility
Inspectors

52 FTE

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation

How did we get here?

1. Missouri voters approved constitutional amendment 

2. Researched best practices from other state programs

3. Public Engagement

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
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4. Rules were developed.

• Both emergency and proposed rules were 
filed with the Secretary of State’s Office –
19 CSR 30‐95.

• The rules are posted on our website.

All Rules can be viewed at:

https://medicalmarijuana.mo.gov

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation

5. Public Communication.

• The Patient Services Call Center activated on May 31 and accepts calls 
Monday ‐ Friday from 8:30 am to 3:30 pm CST (866‐219‐0165).

• Our email address: medicalmarijuanainfo@health.mo.gov.

• Updates are posted to our website as needed: 
https://medicalmarijuana.mo.gov

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
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July 4 
Statute 
Deadline.

D
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Feb 13
Held first 

public forum
M
a
y

Ju
n
e

Aug 3 - 19
Window for 
accepting facility 
applications

Ju
ly

A
u
g
u
st

July 26
Post How to Apply facility 

application training video to 
website

June 28
Begin accepting patient, 

caregiver, and home 
cultivation ID 
applications

Jan 5
Began accepting
pre- application 
fees

Feb 23
Posted draft of Qualified Patient/ 
Primary Caregiver rules on the 
website for comment

May 10 - 20
Draft rules posted 
on website for 
comment

Dec 31
Deadline to 
issue first 
licenses/ 
certifications

We are here!

2020

Facility 
Compliance 
Inspections

Key Dates

• Starting June 28th - patients and caregivers began submitting 
electronic applications:

• $25 nonrefundable for a 1-year patient license
o Plus a $100 fee for patient cultivation license (able to grow up to 6 

flowering plants)

o Minors are not able to apply for patient cultivation license

• $25 for a 1-year caregiver license
o Caregivers can have up to 3 patients

o Additional $100 fee to grow up to 6 flowering plants

Patient Services
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• Applications must include: 

• Color photo,

• Government issued identification,

• Proof of legal guardianship (if applicable),

• Consent form (if applicable),

• Written description of the patient cultivation facility security 
arrangements and processes (if applicable).

Patient Services

Physician certifications must be complete.
• Physician’s name

• Licensee number and whether licensed to 
practice medicine or osteopathy;

• Physician’s business address, telephone number, 
and email address;

• Qualifying patient’s name, date of birth, and social 
security number;

• Qualifying patient’s qualifying condition;

• Physician’s recommendation on the amount of 
medical marijuana the qualifying patient should be 
allowed to purchase in a 30-day period - up to 4 
ounces of unprocessed marijuana or its 
equivalent.

Patient Services - Physician Certification Form
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License Type License Fees Renewal

Qualified Patient $25.00 $25.00

Additional Fee for Patient 
Cultivation $100.00 $100.00

Primary Caregiver for a 
Qualified Patient $25.00 $25.00

Patient Services

Patient / Caregiver Application Stats - (as of August 19, 2019)

Total Applications 7,745
Patient Applications 7,563
Caregiver Applications 182
Approved to Date 6,554
Current Reject Status* 74

*Reject Status is not denials, just an opportunity for applicant to 
provide additional needed information.

Patient Services - Statistics
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Projected Qualified Patients

DHSS research estimates a 
2-3% adoption rate within 
the first 3 years.

120,000 ‐

180,000 

Qualified 

Patients

Projections - Patients

• Facilities electronically submitted applications from Aug 3, 
12:00 a.ms to Aug 19, 4:30 p.m.

o 150 days for approval.

• Applications will be blind scored by an independent third 
party.

o Best scores for cultivators, manufacturers, and laboratory 
testing.

o Best score and district location for dispensary.

Facility Licensing and Compliance
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• Transportation certification
o This certification will not be scored - but will need to meet 

the criteria specified in the Transportation Rule.

• Seed-to-Sale Certification 
o The Department will issue certifications for all eligible 

seed-to-sale entities.

• Agent Identification Cards

Facility Licensing and Compliance - Ongoing

2163
• Facility Applications received as of August 20th

• Exceeding $13 million in collected fees

• As established in Article XIV of the Constitution, taxes on 
medical marijuana sold and money collected by DHSS 
through fees - after covering the program’s operating 
expenses - will be transferred to the new Missouri 
Veterans’ Health and Care Fund.

Facility Applications & Program Status
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Constitutionally‐Prescribed 
Minimums

 2 Testing Facilities - We will certify up to 10 Facilities
 60 Cultivation Facilities
 86 Manufacturing Facilities
 192 Total Dispensaries

340 - 348 Total Facilities

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation

Facility Licensing and Compliance

License/Certification Type
New Application

Fee
Annual Fee Renewal Fee

New Application
Fees

Cultivation Facility $10,000 $25,000 $5,000 $5,000

Dispensary Facility $6,000 $10,000 $3,000 $3,000

Facility Agent $75 $75 $75

Laboratory Testing Facility $5,000 $5,000 $5,000 $5,000

Manufacturing Facility $6,000 $10,000 $3,000 $3,000

Seed to Sale $5,000 $5,000 $5,000

Transporter $5,000 $5,000 $5,000 $5,000
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• Facility Compliance Inspections

• Facility Compliance Education

• Facility Agent ID Applications

• Seed-to-Sale Checks

• Continue with Patient and Caregiver IDs

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
What’s Next?

Can I have an ID card and own and/or purchase guns?

Which medical professionals can certify patients to obtain 
an identification card?

Patient Services
Frequently Asked Questions
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Can a dispensary sell other retail goods and services?

Are my application fees refundable?

Are medical marijuana facilities prohibited from using 
certain words in their business?

Facility Licensing and Compliance
Frequently Asked Questions

When will I receive my cultivation, manufacturing, or 
dispensing license?

What might cause denial of my application?

Facility Licensing and Compliance
Frequently Asked Questions
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Why are only MD and DO listed on the physician 
certification form?

Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution and our rules only allow 
an MD or a DO to certify qualifying medical conditions.

Physician
Frequently Asked Questions

Physician
Frequently Asked Questions

What conditions qualify?

Cancer;
Epilepsy;
Glaucoma;
Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment;
A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent 
muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple 
sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome;

Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic 
stress disorder, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist;

Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome;
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Physician
Frequently Asked Questions

What conditions qualify? (continued)

A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication 
that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician 
determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that 
condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication;

A terminal illness; or

In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or 
other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic 
lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s 
disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s 
disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome.

Go to: https://medicalmarijuana.mo.gov

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
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Section for Medical Marijuana
Stay Up-To-Date

Any questions for me?

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
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Thank You!
Access FAQs and review the rules, visit our website:

https://medicalmarijuana.mo.gov

Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation


